Behind on Updates

I know I haven’t updated in a long while…things have been pretty hectic. My internship culminated today in our Open Conservation Day event that I coordinated, and I can honestly say it was a great success. We had 28 people come out to a rural heritage site and they truly enjoyed themselves and learned a great deal from everything we had to offer. Lots of people were saying they appreciated the event, and thought it was really fabulous that they were allowed to go up on the scaffolding with the conservators and look at the wallpaintings up close.

I will write about this and the last few days more at a later time. Tonight I’m exhausted, and mentally preparing myself for the long journey home. Tomorrow I take a morning train to London, and then I have the rest of the day to myself in the city. I’m planning on going to  the National Portrait Gallery and the British Museum…you know…museum graduate student stuff. 🙂

And then I will crash early and get ready for the atrociously long day that will follow starting Sunday morning.

At the moment I’m having very mixed feelings. I got legitimately teary-eyed when I gave Neil and Sarah my thank you preset for housing me these last eight weeks. I gave them a gift certificate to their favorite Indian take-away place here in Glastonbury. I felt it was the least I could do. They’ve been so gracious and so welcoming…the experience wouldn’t have been the same without them.

I’ve gotten rather attached to this place, and were it not so far from my family, I could easily see myself being happy here on my own. But I am also very much looking forward to seeing my family…and my doggy…and then kicking some major butt in my last semester and graduating on-time in December.

For now I say goodnight…

Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

