Week’s getting better

Monday was a pretty bad day. But yesterday and today have been pretty decent. Yesterday I was on-site at the church, finishing the photos for the inventory, and also taking photos of the girls in a photo-op that Jane set up with them mixing mortar for wall fillings. Not that it’ll ever come in handy, but now know how to make 1:4 ratio slate-lime mortar mixture. Hah.

We stopped at the grocery store on the way home and then Debs made dinner for the four of us. We had good dinner conversation over glasses of wine and I didn’t feel nearly as isolated as I did on Monday. I stayed up late, catching up with friends via chat on Facebook and went to bed just before 2am. I got up this morning at 7am with the girls, had breakfast and after they left went back to bed. I got up two hours later and started working on the computer. I sent a final draft of my 8-page regional newsletter to the West Regional direction, Colin, and he’s going to look through it tonight. Dr R really loves the newsetter and says it’s better than any of their paid marketing officers have ever produced…so that was a nice ego-boost.

I’ve continued working on the inventory but haven’t finished it like I wanted to because several small tasks kept popping up in my inbox from various people at head office in London. So hopefully I’ll find the motivation to work past 5pm to finish the inventory so far as I can until I stop by the church’s keyholder’s house and assess what he has stored there…mostly silver objects I think.

I had a minor panic attack yesterday when I started getting emails about the Fall semester. Graduate office send me stuff about my assistantship appointment, which led to an email about my thesis committee, and that was compounded with an email from Jeff at the Florida Museum of Natural History asking me when I could start working again. It looks like I’ll be hitting the ground running come Monday Sept 10th. I also had a very minor personal crisis, but all is well now. So what started out as a bad week is turning out to be not so bad.

I head back to the church tomorrow, so hopefully I can find enough to do while I’m there so I’m not bored out of my mind for the last few hours. And then Friday after work I’m headed back to Glastonbury…which of course makes me very happy. 🙂 I think if I had a home away from home, it would be in Glastonbury. Love it there.

I think it’s tea time out on the porch…so cheerio for now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

