T-minus 4 days and counting

So…this is really happening. I’m really leaving for England, for 8 weeks, in just over four days.
I’ve been in fairly regular contact with Dr. Rushton over the last few days, working out some logistical things for my time abroad, and everything is now finally sinking in.
I have a more specific list of duties now, broken down by weeks. The first week I’ll be visiting churches with Dr. R and helping out on a project at a church in Holcombe, which is part of the Festival of British Archaeology. Part of the Holcombe project includes archaeological dating technique demonstrations, and I’ll be included in a workshop on dendrochronological dating! (Wood dating).
The second week I’ll be working as a “guest editor” of their regional newsletter, which Dr. R is hoping to revamp and send out to their volunteers and contractors…. Resume fodder anyone??? πŸ™‚
Also during the second week I’ll begin “collating”, as Dr. R puts it, information from the archive on Inglesham, in preparation for the major project I’m helping on, which is takes up the last six weeks of my internship, and that’s the conservation project at the church in Inglesham, Wiltshire.
I will be spending these first two weeks in Glastonbury, Somerset, which gives me easy access to places like Bristol and Bath on the weekends. πŸ™‚
And the last six weeks will be spent in Pewsey, Wiltshire, which is only an hour and a half train ride to Paddington Station in London.

For now I’m just finishing up some readings and familiarizing myself with general things about the British heritage sector.

More to come very, very soon! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “T-minus 4 days and counting

  1. I’m assuming photos will be here? Or your photography site thingy?

    It’s not that obvious where my priorities are… is it? Oops. :3

    Happy traveling!

  2. I will try to post photos, but I’m not sure how many I’ll actually post while I’m here. I have taken some on my camera, but I don’t have a laptop….just my iPad and iPhone, so uploading would have to happen on someone else’s computer. :-/
    But I will post lots of photos when I get back for sure! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

